Sport

Senior School and Sixth Form

Team spirit is a special ingredient in Harrodian culture and it underpins the way we approach sports education throughout the school.

We pride ourselves on an inclusive and supportive environment which gives all students the chance to take part in a wide range of sporting activities in a positive and challenging setting throughout their school careers. We want every boy and girl to thoroughly enjoy taking part in PE and Games, to fulfil his or her individual sporting potential and, whenever possible, to represent the school competitively and confidently on one of our many teams.

Our teachers approach their work with sensitivity and enthusiasm. Our aim is both to inspire in our students a love and knowledge of sport and to educate them about the many benefits that participation can have on their long-term health and well-being. Our approach also aims to instil key strategic skills and character qualities in our students – among them planning, organisation, communication, bravery, resilience and teamwork – that are as crucial to success in the wider world as they are on the playing field.

Curriculum introduction

The curriculum is tailored to each section of the school. The senior school (13s-Upper Sixth) are offered a range of activities, each of which is modified to meet the needs and abilities of  the particular year group. These activities include Health Related Fitness, Strength and Conditioning, Yoga, Zumba, Aerobics, Football, Netball, Rugby, Hockey, Basketball, Swimming, Athletics, Tennis, Cricket and Rounders.

For further information please see the Curriculum Handbooks for 13-U6 Sport.

Extracurricular activities and fixture opportunities

Our extensive extracurricular program includes before-school, lunchtime and after-school clubs which offer greater breadth of activity and longer participation time. The main sports listed above have training clubs available to pupils developing their skills and to those who are already representing school teams. Other on-site activities include karate, fencing and Sports Leadership. We are also able to recommend a number of other local sporting clubs and organisations for off-site sports such as golf and squash. For more information please download our Club Links list below.  A full calendar of competitive fixtures is also available to view on our own dedicated sports website. In addition to this, we also regularly organise sports tours for teams taking part in our main representative sports.   

For fixture information                                         

In addition to our regular fixture list, we also regularly organise sports tours for teams taking part in our main representative sports. 

Staff

Head of Sport and PE (Pre-Prep, Prep and Senior): Ben Proudfoot ( email: bproudfoot@harrodian.com )

Head of Senior Sport: Tim Seaton (email: tseaton@harrodian.com )

Teachers of Senior Sport: Ben Proudfoot, Tim Seaton (email as above), Luke Cuff Burnett (email: lcuffburnett@harrodian.com), Rebecca Dorse/ maternity leave (email: rdorse@harrodian.com), Alastair Lydon (email: alydon@harrodian.com),  Clair Foster (email: cfoster@harrodian.com), Martha Kinsella (email: mkinsella@harrodian.com), Montanna Bentley (email: mbentley@harrodian.com)

Sports Assistant: Dominic Prest (email: dprest@harrodian.com)

For all Sport Staff qualifications, please see the download below.